What was that about cutting your finger nails on a Sunday?

A friend of mine has a favorite wives tale about cutting your nails, when you should and shouldn’t cut them. Apparently if you chop them on a Sunday you will be followed by the devil all week. Sunday came round, maybe I was willing something bad to happen or maybe I simply needed to cut my nails- which seemed to be growing extremely fast in the heat.

neat nails
Aren’t they lovely, trim, neat nails!! (wink!). There are many men it India who have long thumb and pinky finger nails and I have to confess I find it really creepy looking, it makes my skin crawl. I know it is a status symbol, but I just can’t handle it. I’m a bit fixated by it. Hmmm it’s becoming apparent that I harbour these weird preduices.

An introduction into hashish… Sunday the pace had slowed to almost a stop, I started experiencing cabin fever. The weather hot heavy and humid.Bored, bored, bored I feel selfish; or maybe self-indulgent is a better term; this boredom when I am in such an exotic new amazing country. It’s been eight solid days of hanging out with the same person, it think I need my own head space. I am so precious, I’m used to my own space and lots of different friends to hang out with… It’s all been a bit serious so far, where is the silliness laughter, loud tears, I want to feel it in my belly. I expect everything too soon, or maybe I need to make it happen. Step one- make my own independent friends. Kath and I, me and Kath; we have the same bags, thongs, phones, and backpacks; it’s a morphing into the one person. I feel like a shadow. Yes my own insincerities are surfacing; Kath is beautiful, people swarm to her, I feel like wall paper. Fiona the wall flower in the background. I’m trying to work out if I am green eyed and jealous- no I think it is envy (shrug), I am only human after all.

Back to the illegal activities of the day. So, bored and sleeping (I took a nap after chopping my nails), trying to make the day pass faster and then the door bell rang. Yay, our first visitor. Prathima our corruptive friend who likes to talk boys, sex, alcohol and drugs. She had come to alleviate our boredom as well as her own. So it was off into the city in search of papers, the mission failed, but we ate Mexican and sipped on cinnamon chai… Mmmmmmm. Back to the dorms and it was an ask around amongst those who looked as though they may smoke. Pink strawberry flavoured papers were located and Oolala our first Indian hashish joint was smoked. We showed our photos of home and friends, listened to music and chilled the afternoon away. Happy Sundays!!

The devil won’t stop at one illegal activity. Diggi Picked us up and took us out to dinner. Being a bit extravagant and trying to show off I suspect, we were taken to a non-veg restaurant. Then it was back to his house. Gujarat is a dry state. That’s not to say drinking alcohol doesn’t happen, it’s just that if you get caught you will be put in jail. Blackmarket prices are expensive and it is usually really bad quality. Depending on who you get it through it can be way overproof and leathal. Diggi gets his from Mumbai from bottle shops and sneaks it back into the state because he doesn’t trust the blackmarket. So we drank warm whisky passing the bottle between us, when it was gone it was onto vodka. Hmmm I’m not a fan of warm straight spirits, but the evening was really funny.

5 Comments

  1. Maire said,

    July 12, 2007 at 10:42 pm

    Finona!!!! I can’t believe your nail cutting audacity! I’m saving mine up for Thursday… a pair of new shoes would be just fine!

    p.s. i love your blog

    p.p.s. i love you too

  2. jo said,

    July 13, 2007 at 4:46 am

    What did I tell you! Next you will be leaving the lid off the tea-pot and singing before breakfast!!!!!!!!

  3. jaume said,

    July 17, 2007 at 7:40 am

    sounds great, and love the way you explain those ´hapenings´overseas, even if i need totake a look to the dictionary to understand some hi-fi.new-stuff.
    thanks!bigkiss.enjoy

  4. Emma said,

    July 19, 2007 at 9:56 am

    For hands that look that good the criminal activities sound worth it ;-)
    Can you post more photos of yourself too please xox

  5. Raye said,

    August 7, 2007 at 2:08 am

    I love you and miss you. India sounds interesting…In news from home Isaac is walking.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

